A Snap beyond Borders: An Online Archive and Education Project of Hong Kong Theatre and Performance Photography

 

Stage performance is instant, and its photography goes into another approach of aesthetics: documenting the present, provoking dialogues and extending imagination. The continuous accumulation of stage images in Hong Kong is an important project in the history of local art and culture.

This project is organised and curated by the International Association of Theatre Critics (Hong Kong) (IATC(HK)), and is funded by the HKSAR Arts Capacity Development Funding Scheme (ACDFS). Stage images taken by six important Hong Kong stage photographers, YUEN Hon-wai, Ringo CHAN†, CHEUNG Chi-wai, TSANG Man-tung, TSE Ming-chong, and KWAN Pun-leung, will be documented. 

This project takes the perspective and memory of photographers as the subject matter. Through their eyes and aesthetics under the camera lens, it writes out the history of Hong Kong stage performance over the past 40 years. The bilingual digital database would be of great significance and would be the first to combine Hong Kong stage images with outlined theatre history and oral history of stage photography. 

This two-year project includes photos archive, talks, a mentorship scheme, an exhibition and a photobook. Both local and overseas theatre practitioners and the general public can understand the aesthetics of stage photography through images, which mark the development of Hong Kong stage performance.

 

Curator: Bernice CHAN Kwok-wai

Photographers: YUEN Hon-wai, Ringo CHAN†, CHEUNG Chi-wai, TSANG Man-tung, TSE Ming-chong, KWAN Pun-leung

 

†Deceased

Copyright Disclaimer

  • The copyright of all photos in “Photos” is owned by photographers.
  • The copyright of all photos in “Workshops” is co-owned by photographers and International Association of Theatre Critics (Hong Kong).

 

All photos and their information in “Photos” are provided by photographers and City Contemporary Dance Company, and supplemented by International Association of Theatre Critics (Hong Kong). The year and venue are listed according to the time when and the location where the Performance/Event took place. Please contact us by email for any enquiries.

Presented by

HKADC_Logo-with-藝發局資助團體-01.png

A Snap beyond Borders: An Online Archive and Education Project of Hong Kong Theatre and Performance Photography is financially supported by the Arts Capacity Development Funding Scheme of the Government of the Hong Kong Special Administrative Region

The content of this programme does not reflect the views of the Government of the Hong Kong Special Administrative Region

Acknowledgements

  • All arts groups, artists and friends participating in this project
  • HSU Wei (Photo Editor of KWAN Pun-leung’s photos)
  • Maximillian CHENG (Photo Editor of CHEUNG Chi-wai’s photos)

一攝無邊:香港劇場影像紀錄數碼資料庫暨教育計劃

 

舞台藝術是瞬間,攝影卻介入了另一種進路的美學:紀錄當下、與之對話、延伸想像。香港舞台影像的持續累積,是本地藝術文化發展史的一項重要工程。

本計劃由國際演藝評論家協會(香港分會)策劃及統籌,獲香港特別行政區政府「藝能發展資助計劃」的資助,整理和保存本地六位重要舞台攝影藝術家:阮漢威、陳德昌、張志偉、曾文通、謝明莊和關本良的演藝影像紀錄。

以攝影藝術家的視角和記憶作為主體,通過他們的眼睛和鏡頭下的美學,書寫香港舞台過去四十年的歷史,創建香港首個結合紀錄舞台影像、梳理劇場歷史和口述舞台攝影史的中英雙語數碼資料庫。

計劃為期兩年,項目包括創建劇場影像資料庫、舉辦網上講座、舞台攝影師徒工作坊、展覽及出版攝影集,不論本地或是海外的戲劇工作者和市民大眾,都可以通過沒有語言界限的影像,了解舞台攝影的美學,突破時間認識香港舞台發展的軌跡。

 

策劃人:陳國慧

攝影師:阮漢威、陳德昌、張志偉、曾文通、謝明莊、關本良

版權聲明

  • 圖片庫所有照片版權由攝影師全權擁有,未經許可,不得轉載、複製或列印。
  • 工作坊列出的所有照片版權由攝影師與國際演藝評論家協會(香港分會)共同擁有,未經許可,不得轉載、複製或列印。

 

圖片庫照片及其相關資料由攝影師和城市當代舞蹈團提供,期後再由本會補充,所列出之資料為該演出/事件的上演年份和場地,如有修訂或補遺,歡迎以電郵向本會聯絡。

策劃及統籌

「一攝無邊:香港劇場影像紀錄數碼資料庫暨教育計劃」獲香港特別行政區政府「藝能發展資助計劃」的資助

節目內容並不反映香港特別行政區政府的意見

鳴謝

  • 參與本計劃的所有藝團、藝術家及各界人士
  • 徐薇(關本良照片整理)
  • 鄭珞璋(張志偉照片整理)